Jan Šerých: Jan Šerých Was Born 24.6.2083 Minus One

artist´s book series

The catalogue presents in a broader selection the work of Jan Šerých between 1999 and 2008. The pictorial part of the publication (over 200 colour reproductions) are thematically grouped so that they show the breadth of the media he uses but also focus thoroughly on his individual works. The texts of the monograph correspond with this grouping and are written by Vít Havránek, Tomáš Pospiszyl, Jiří Ptáček, Václav Magid and Karel Císař, who, along with Jan Šerých, also took part in creating the publication’s concept.

Jan Šerých (*1972) is among the leading representatives of the younger generation in contemporary Czech art. In employing a broad spectrum of expressive means – from painting and drawing to installation and video projection, he follows up on constructive and conceptual trends of the latter half of the 20th century. He is linked with them, above all, through their formal composition. However, behind a seemingly rational construction lies a strong emotional charge, motivated by a scepticism of the possibility to communicate in today’s world. If the author turns to questions of translation between the various communication means such as digital and analogue media or to coding problems, his intention is not to probe the formal properties of these areas, but to assume a critical position. Open communication with the public is thus ensured in his work through the artist’s personal commitment.

Czech/English edition
Authors: Vít Havránek, Tomáš Pospiszyl, Jiří Ptáček, et al.
Editors: Jan Šerých
Distributor: KOSMAS
City: Prague
Year: 2008
Pages: 127
ISBN/ISSN: 978-80-8725
Price: 300 CZK (12 €)

Special Notes:

Czech/English edition
Prague, 2008
ISBN 978-80-87259-01-6
200 x 201 mm, softcover
168 pages, images 207 color
graphic design by Jan Šerých
distribution by Kosmas (